Equality Parade 2014 – Open letter

Open letter of the Ambassadors of Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, New Zealand, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, the United Kingdom and the United States of America as well as the Representative of the Flemish Government and the Representative of the Government of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation, on the occasion of the Equality Parade in Warsaw on June 14th, 2014. The initiative of this letter came from the Embassy of the Kingdom of Belgium.

On the occasion of this year's Warsaw Equality Parade, we express our support for efforts to raise public awareness of the issue affecting the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) community in Poland. In this regard, we affirm the inherent dignity of each individual as expressed in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Respect for these fundamental values, which are also enshrined in the framework of the Council of Europe and the European Union as a community of values, obliges governments to protect all citizens from violence and discrimination and to ensure they enjoy equal opportunities. For this, we need to jointly work on an environment of tolerance and acceptance. We pay tribute to the hard work of LGBTI communities in Poland and around the world, as well as the work of all those in government and outside who seek to ensure human rights for LGBTI persons and end discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity. LGBTI rights are human rights, for which each individual should stand.

Patricia Beatriz Salas, Charge d'Affaires of the Embassy of Argentina

Jean Dunn, Ambassador of Australia

Thomas M. Buchsbaum, Ambassador of Austria

Raoul Delcorde, Ambassador of Belgium

Alexandra Bugailiskis, Ambassador of Canada

Andrea Bekić, Ambassador of Croatia

Steen Hommel, Ambassador of Denmark

Jari Vilen, Ambassador of Finland

Pierre Buhler, Ambassador of France

Rolf Nikel, Ambassador of Germany

Eugene Hutchinson, Ambassador of Ireland

Andrea Lepore, Charge d'Affaires of the Embassy of Italy

Loreta Zakareviciene, Ambassador of Lithuania Conrad Bruch, Ambassador of Luxembourg Pierre Clive Agius, Ambassador of Malta Wendy Hinton, Ambassador of New Zealand Marcel Kurpershoek, Ambassador of the Netherlands Karsten Klepsvik, Ambassador of Norway Maria Amélia Paiva, Ambassador of Portugal Marjan Setinc, Ambassador of Portugal Lehlohonolo Shadrack Ted, Ambassador of South Africa Agustín Núñez, Ambassador of Spain Staffan Herrström, Ambassador of Sweden Robin Barnett, Ambassador of the United Kingdom Stephen Mull, Ambassador of the United States of America Koen Haverbeke, Representative of the Flemish Government Franck Pezza, Representative of the Government of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation